jfki-logo

The John F. Kennedy Institute

The John F. Kennedy Institute is renowned for its innovative interdisciplinary research as well as its rigorous study programs. Founded in 1963 by the political scientist Ernst Fraenkel, the institute is dedicated to the study of the United States and Canada in all its facets. The six disciplines brought together at the institute, the numerous scholarships and exchange programs which it sponsors in addition to its world class research library create a unique academic environment. Disciplinary diversity and in-depth intellectual inquiry lay the foundation for excellence in research and teaching.

Departments

Das Institut vereinigt die sechs Disziplinen unter einem Dach

Graduate School

The Graduate School of North American Studies has been funded by the German Research Foundation since 2006. The School's program is dedicated to a comprehensive and interdisciplinary analysis of the social, economic and cultural changes facing North America at the beginning of the 21st century.

News

Spinner

Newsletter and Blog

newsletter19-cover

Our newsletter appears once every semester and contains reports about recent events and activities, updates on new publications, and other news from the six departments. The official JFKI Blog is a new platform for students and faculty to announce events or publications and post research-based commentary or other noteworthy items.

Further Information

jfki-logo

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien (JFKI) ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungs- und Lehrinstitut der Freien Universität Berlin. Es wurde 1963 von dem Politologen Ernst Fraenkel gegründet, um eine wissenschaftliche Spezialisierung auf die USA und Kanada zu ermöglichen. Die am Institut vertretenen sechs Disziplinen, die zahlreichen Stipendien- und Austauschprogramme sowie die europaweit einzigartige Forschungsbibliothek mit dem Sammelschwerpunkt Nordamerika ermöglichen ein erstklassiges Studium, das wissenschaftliche Tiefe mit disziplinärer Vielfalt kombiniert.

Abteilungen des JFKI

Das Institut vereinigt die sechs Disziplinen unter einem Dach

Graduiertenschule

Die Graduiertenschule für Nordamerikastudien wird seit 2006 von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative gefördert.  Sie widmet sich der umfassenden und interdisziplinären Erforschung des gesellschaftlichen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Wandels der nordamerikanischen Gesellschaften zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts.

News

Spinner
Spinner

Newsletter & Blog

Cover Newsletter 19

Der Newsletter des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts erscheint einmal im Semester und gibt einen Rückblick auf Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten des Instituts und der Abteilungen in den letzten Monaten. Das offizielle Blog des JFKI ist eine neue Plattform für aktuelle Informationen und Kommentare von Mitarbeiter/innen und Studierenden.

Weitere Informationen