Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Teaching

Teaching

The sociology of North America as it is represented at the John F. Kennedy Institute consists of two main areas of research and teaching: first, the sociological analysis of social structures and processes in North American societies; second, the theoretical approaches and research programmes originating in North America. Both areas are intertwined: Theoretical approaches and research programmes are often used to describe, explain and analyze social structures and processes in North American societies.

Historically and systematically significant theoretical approaches and research programmes, and in particular pragmatist and functionalist social theory, therefore constitute basic topics of teaching, on the one hand. On the other hand the debates about contemporary and historical problems of North American societies are basic topics of teaching equally significant. Finally, to understand North American societies it is indispensable to include North American culture – primarily mass and popular culture – in the analysis. The approaches of cultural sciences (Dept. of Culture, JFKI) and of cultural sociology complete the account sociology can provide of North America societies. Consequently, the public sphere, mass media and religion constitute central topics for teaching and research. Qualitative, hermeneutic methods of empirical research make the culturally defined social realities of North America accessible. As in other realms of teaching and research he sociology of North America here as well has originated innovative patterns, e.g. the methods of visual sociology.

The department’s fields of research already mentioned are supplemented by projects in the field of social theory (theories of communication and, in particular, visual communication), of social integration (and the mass media and mass culture contributing to it) and of social change (particularly catastrophic social change and change by destruction).

 

Bachelor (North American Studies)

 

Semester

 Orientation Module

Specialization Module

A    Social Structures

B   Social Processes

 W19

 Undergraduate Course

 Advanced Seminar A

 

 

 Advanced Seminar A

 

 S20

 Seminar

 

 Advanced Seminar B

     Advanced Seminar B

 W20

 Undergraduate Course

 Advanced Seminar A

 

 

 Advanced Seminar A

 

 

 

Master (North American Studies)

Semester

Module A

Sociological Theories of North America

Module B

Social Systems, Institutions and Orders - Purpose and Function

Module C

Examining the Social Process - Problem, Conflict, Crisis

 W19

 Seminar

 

Seminar

 Graduate Course

 

 Graduate Course

 S20

 

Seminar

 

 

Graduate Course

 

 W20

 Seminar

  Seminar
Graduate Course  

 Graduate Course

 

 

Graduate School of North American Studies

Semester

Graduate Seminar

Research Colloquium

 W19

   

 S20

  Current topics and research fields in North American Studies

 

 W20

 

 

 

 

Master (European Societies)

Semester

Lecture

Seminar

 W19

 Theories of Integration  Graduate Course

 S20

 

 

 W20

 Theories of Integration

 Graduate Course

 

 

 


 

Contact:

sociology@jfki.fu-berlin.de

Religion und Wissenschaft
Workspace_Canada

Lehre

Die Soziologie Nordamerikas, wie sie am John-F.-Kennedy-Institut vertreten ist, umfasst zwei Fragenkomplexe: Es geht erstens um die soziologische Analyse der sozialen Strukturen und Prozesse der nordamerikanischen Gesellschaften. Zweitens geht es um die aus Nordamerika stammenden Theorieansätze und Forschungsprogramme der Soziologie. Beide Fragenkomplexe sind oft miteinander verschränkt: Theorieansätze und Forschungsprogramme dienen dazu, soziale Strukturen und Prozesse in nordamerikanischen Gesellschaften zu beschreiben zu erklären und zu analysieren.

Zu den Grundlagen in der Lehre zählen deshalb einerseits die nordamerikanischen Theorieansätze und Forschungsprogramme in ihrer historischen und systematischen Bedeutung – insbesondere die pragmatistische und die funktionalistische Sozialtheorie, andererseits hat die Auseinandersetzung mit den aktuellen und historischen Problemen nordamerikanischer Gesellschaften einen gleichermaßen grundlegenden Charakter. Um nordamerikanische Gesellschaften zu verstehen, ist es schließlich unabdingbar, die nordamerikanische Kultur – die vor allen eine Massen- und Populärkultur ist – in die Analyse einzubeziehen. Die Ansätze der Kulturwissenschaft (Abt. Kultur des JFKI) und der Kultursoziologie vervollständigen das Bild, das die Soziologie von den Gesellschaften Nordamerikas bietet. Öffentlichkeit, Massenmedien und Religion bilden zentrale Felder für Lehre und Forschung der Abteilung. Qualitative, verstehende Forschungsmethoden machen die kulturell interpretierten sozialen Realitäten Nordamerikas zugänglich. Auch hier hat die nordamerikanische Soziologie innovative Werkzeuge entwickelt – wie etwa in Gestalt der Methoden der visuellen Soziologie.

Die bereits genannten Forschungsschwerpunkte der Abteilung werden ergänzt durch Projekte auf den Gebieten der Theorie im engeren Sinn (Theorien der Kommunikation, speziell auch der visuellen Kommunikation), der sozialen Integration (speziell auch im Hinblick auf den Beitrag von Massenmedien und Massenkultur) und des sozialen Wandels (speziell auch des katastrophischen Wandels und des Wandels durch Zerstörung).

 

Studienangebot

 

Bachelor (Nordamerikastudien)

Master (Nordamerikastudien)

Graduate School (Nordamerikastudien)

Master (European Societies)

Erasmus

 

Diese Angaben dienen lediglich als Orientierungshilfe im Rahmen der Studienverlaufsplanung. Verbindliche Angaben zu den jeweils aktuellen Lehrveranstaltungen der Abteilung Soziologie finden Sie im aktuellen Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

 

Bachelor (Nordamerikastudien)

 

Semester

 

Disziplinäres Aufbaumodul

Vertiefung

A

Soziale Sturkturen

B

Soziale Prozesse

WS

13/14

Aufbaukurs

Vertiefungsseminar A

 

 

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

SoSe

14

Aufbauseminar

 

Vertiefungsseminar B

 

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

WS

14/15

Aufbaukurs

Vertiefungsseminar A

 

 

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

Vertiefungsseminar A/B

 

 

Master (Nordamerikastudien)

Semester

Modul A

Soziologische Theorien Nordamerikas

Modul B

Soziale Systeme, Institutionen und Ordnungen

Modul C

Die Erforschung des sozialen Prozesses

WS

13/14

Theories of Integration

(Grundlagenveranstaltung)

 

 

Hauptseminar

 

 Hauptseminar

SoSe

14

 

Grundlagenveranstaltung

 

 

Hauptseminar

 

WS

14/15

Theories of Integration

(Grundlagenveranstaltung)

 

 Grundlagenveranstaltung

Hauptseminar

 

 Hauptseminar

 

 

Graduate School of North American Studies

Semester

Graduate Seminar

Research Colloquium

WS 2013/14

Values, Community, and Identity

Disciplinary Research Methods

SoSe 2014

 

Advanced Disciplinary Research Methods*

WS 2014/15

Values, Community, and Identity

Disciplinary Research Methods*

 

 

Master (European Societies)

Semester

Lecture

Seminar

WS

13/14

Theories of Integration

 

SoSe

14

 

 

WS

14/15

Theories of Integration

 

 

 

Erasmus+ für Studierende

Copenhagen Business School (DK)

 


 

Kontakt:

sociology@jfki.fu-berlin.de