Audre Lorde Archive

The award-winning African-American poet Audre Lorde (1934-1992), known as a fighter for the rights of black people, especially women, regularly visited Berlin in the last eight years of her life. There, she shaped the beginnings of the Afro-German movement and the anti-racism discourse among whites. Dagmar Schultz, then assistant professor at the John F. Kennedy Institute and publisher of Audre Lorde’s books in the Orlanda Verlag, brought her to the institute as a visiting professor and accompanied her during her stays in Germany, often with a sound recorder, camera or video camera. These recordings, complemented by current interviews with friends and fellow campaigners, form the basis of the documentary Audre Lorde - The Berlin Years, 1984-1992, which had its world premiere in the Panorama section of the Berlin Film Festival 2012. After producing the film, Dagmar Schultz donated the historical raw material for her film - audio and video recordings, photographs, letters and posters – to Freie Universität Berlin.

Through a joint project of the John F. Kennedy Institute and the University Archive, the extensive materials that include audio recordings of all seminar sessions and many poetry readings were indexed, archived and made accessible to the public. The original media are kept in the University Archive and can be viewed there. The Library of the John F. Kennedy Institute presents selected digitized collection items on this page.

Freie Universität Berlin thanks Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schultz for her generous donation.

 

Finding aid for the Audre Lorde archive with detailed information about the collection (in German)

Sound recordings from the Audre Lorde archive

Photographs from the Audre Lorde archive

 

Terms of Use

The files may be downloaded, passed on and published for personal or academic purposes. Commercial use and alterations to the files are prohibited. The source "Freie Universität Berlin, University Archive, Lorde estate" is to be indicated in all publications. Additionally, Dagmar Schultz is to be credited as the photographer when photographies are reproduced.

 

Banner_primo2
Konto
Banner_digibib
Bannervifa

Audre-Lorde-Archiv

Die preisgekrönte afroamerikanische Dichterin Audre Lorde (1934-1992) hielt sich in den letzten acht Jahren ihres Lebens wiederholt in Berlin auf, wo sie die Anfänge der afro-deutschen Bewegung und der Antirassismusdiskussion unter Weißen entscheidend prägte. Dagmar Schultz, damals Hochschulassistentin am John-F.-Kennedy-Institut und Verlegerin der Bücher von Audre Lorde im Orlanda Verlag, holte die Kämpferin für die Rechte Schwarzer Menschen, insbesondere Frauen, als Gastprofessorin an das Institut und begleitete sie bei ihren Deutschlandaufenthalten häufig mit Tonaufnahmegerät, Foto- oder Videokamera. Aus diesen Aufnahmen und zusätzlichen aktuellen Interviews mit Wegbegleiterinnen Lordes entstand der Dokumentarfilm Audre Lorde – The Berlin Years, 1984-1992, der seine Weltpremiere in der Panorama-Sektion der Berliner Filmfestspiele 2012 hatte. Das historische Rohmaterial für ihren Film – Audio- und Videoaufnahmen, Fotos, Briefe und Plakate – schenkte Dagmar Schultz der Freien Universität Berlin.

In einem gemeinsamen Projekt des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts und des Universitätsarchivs wurden die umfangreichen Materialien, die auch Tonaufnahmen aller Seminarsitzungen und vieler Lesungen umfassen, archivarisch erschlossen und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Die Originale werden im Universitätsarchiv aufbewahrt und können dort eingesehen werden. Auf dieser Seite präsentiert die Bibliothek des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts ausgewählte Sammlungsgegenstände in digitaler Form.

Die Freie Universität Berlin dankt Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schultz für ihre großzügige Schenkung.

 

Findbuch zum Audre-Lorde-Archiv mit ausführlichen Informationen zur Sammlung

Tonaufnahmen aus dem Audre-Lorde-Archiv

Fotos aus dem Audre-Lorde-Archiv

Presseinfo zum Film "Audre Lorde: The Berlin Years, 1984-1992"

 

Nutzungsbedingungen:

Die Dateien dürfen für private oder wissenschaftliche Zwecke abgespeichert, weitergegeben und veröffentlicht werden. Die kommerzielle Nutzung ist ebenso untersagt wie eine Veränderung der Dateien. Bei allen Veröffentlichungen ist die Herkunftsangabe "Freie Universität Berlin, Universitätsarchiv, Nachlass Lorde" zu nennen. Bei den Fotos ist zusätzlich Dagmar Schultz als Urheberin zu nennen.