Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bachelor Program (30CP)

Model Study Plan BA 2018 (30 CP Program)

Model Study Plan BA 2018 (30 CP Program)

Course of Study BA 2018 (30 CP)

North American Studies is also available as a 30 CP minor for students enrolled in a “Kombibachelor.” A semester abroad is not a compulsory part of the 30 CP module. Please see here for more details on which combinations are possible (overview only available in German) or contact the FU Info Service.

Introductory Courses (10 CP)

  • Introductory Module: Understanding North America A2

    (Culture, History, Literature and a fourth discipline of UNA B2. The exam is written only in UNA A2)

OR

  • Introductory Module: Understanding North America B2

     (Economics, Political Science, Sociology and a fourth discipline of UNA A2. The exam is written only in UNA B2)

Disciplinary Orientation (20 CP)

  • Orientation Module, Discipline 1 (10 CP) and
  • Orientation Module, Discipline 2 (10 CP)

OR

  • Orientation Module, Discipline 1 (10 CP) and
  • Advanced Module A, Discipline 1 (10 CP)

OR

  • Orientation Module, Discipline 1 (10 CP) and
  • Advanced Module B, Discipline 1 (10 CP)
Please find a more extensive introduction to the structure and contents of the program as well as interviews with current instructors and students here.

Supplementary Notes on the sample course of study

The orientation modules each consist of two classes ("Proseminar," and "Seminar"). There are two types of credit for these classes: “active participation,” which remains without a grade, and "Leistungsschein," which is graded based both on active participation and a written exam / term paper / oral exam. To complete the module, one of the classes has to be completed as "active participation," the other as "Leistungsschein."

Please note that the multidisciplinary orientation module consists of a course ("Proseminar") and attending the ring lecture (Ringvorlesung), offered every winter term. As the ring lecture counts as "active participation," the corresponding course has to be completed as "Leistungsschein."

For the modules Understanding North America (UNA) A2 and B2, attending the Friday lectures is mandatory. Tutorials are not part of the study program and should only be attended on a voluntary basis (students can not obtain credits for the tutorials!). In addition to the first UNA module (e.g. UNA A2) you select, you have to attend the lectures of a fourth discipline in the respective other UNA (e.g. UNA B2) module.
Lecture and Course Catalog
Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistent (OSA)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bachelor 30LP

Nordamerikastudien kann als 30-LP-Modulangebot im Kombibachelor studiert werden. Im Gegensatz zum Hauptfach ist ein Auslandsaufenthalt für Studierende im 30-LP-Modulangebot nicht obligatorisch. Welche Kombinationen mit Nordamerikastudien und anderen Fächern möglich sind, können Sie über den Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistenten erfahren.

Studienverlauf

Grundlagen (10 LP)

  • Grundlagenmodul Understanding North America A2

    (Geschichte, Kultur, Literatur)

oder

  • Grundlagenmodul Understanding North America B2

    (Politik, Soziologie, Wirtschaft)

Disziplinäre Orientierung (20 LP)

  • Disziplinäres Orientierungsmodul Schwerpunkt 1 (10 LP)
  • Multidisziplinäres Orientierungsmodul Schwerpunkt 2 (10 LP)

Das Orientierungsmodul setzt sich aus einem Proseminar und einem Seminar zusammen. Das multidisziplinäre Orientierungsmodul besteht aus Proseminar und Ringvorlesung.

Exemplarischer Studienverlauf

Anmerkungen zum exemplarischen Studienverlauf

Die Orientierungsmodule bestehen aus zwei Modulbausteinen, einem Proseminar und einem Seminar. Nur in einem der beiden Veranstaltungen wird eine benotete Prüfungsleistung erbracht, in der anderen muss lediglich „aktive Teilnahme“ geleistet werden. Das Modul ist abgeschlossen, wenn in einer Veranstaltung aktive Teilnahme und die benotete Prüfungsleistung und in der zweiten nur die aktive Teilnahme erbracht wurden.

Eine Ausnahme hierzu bildet das multidisziplinäre Orientierungsmodul. Dies besteht aus einem Proseminar, in dem aktive Teilnahme und benotete Prüfungsleistung erbracht werden müssen, und der jährlich im Wintersemester stattfindenden Ringvorlesung.

In den Modulen "Understanding North America" (UNA) A2 bzw. B2 müssen die Vorlesungen am Freitag besucht werden. Die Teilnahme am Tutorium ist freiwillig. Zusätzlich zum gewählten UNA-Modul muss aktive Teilnahme für die Vorlesungen einer weiteren Disziplin im anderen UNA-Modul nachgewiesen werden. Wenn also UNA A2 abgeschlossen wurde, müssen noch die Vorlesungen einer Disziplin aus UNA B2 (z.B. Politik) besucht werden und umgekehrt.
www.fu-berlin.de/vv/jfki
Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistent (OSA)