Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Chiara Migliori

Alumna

Address
Lansstraße 5-9
14195 Berlin

"We're saying Merry Christmas again": Donald Trump as the Savior of White Conservative Christian Identity

Dissertation in Culture

Mentoring team:
First supervisor: Prof. Martin Lüthe
Second supervisor: Prof. Harald Wenzel
Third supervisor: Prof. Mark J. Rozell

I investigated the first two years of Trump’s presidency through the lens of a triangular relationship involving the president, prominent Religious Right organizations, and white conservative Christian electors. Devised as a tool to appraise the links between religious advocacy groups and Trump voters, this tripartite scheme allowed me to underline the various discursive, ideological, and symbolic elements sustaining said connection and helping to explain the successful electoral result.

The structure of the dissertation mirrors that of the triangular relationship. The first chapter provides a historical background to both the long-standing connection between religious values and politics in the United States, and the economic and social changes that affected the country and were responsible for the growth of feelings of displacement and resentment, and consequently status loss, among white conservative Christian citizens; the chapter is concluded by an overview of the religious elements populating Trump’s discourse. The second chapter presents the discourse of the Religious Right as stemming from both individual interviews and written material. The third and final chapter is centered around the peer group conversations conducted with white conservative Christians on the themes of religious freedom and Donald Trump.

As highlighted by the analysis performed, the scant and sloganized way in which Christian symbols entered Trump’s speeches (“Nothing beats the Bible,” “We’re saying Merry Christmas”) did not prevent both supportive Religious Right organizations and white conservative Christian voters to attribute him the traits of a savior of their identity and culture. Far from merely constituting a legacy of the ideological alliance between conservative Christians and the Republican Party formed at the end of the 1970s, the resonance that the president’s deployment of religious talk had with his supporters is indicative of the stage of exploitation for political purposes reached by religion in the twenty-first century. Now a mere tool of mobilization for a reactionary white identity politics, Christianity is used to provide reinforcement and legitimation to a discourse based on claims of endangered rights and freedoms deployed by conservatives, both at the national and the local level, to express racialized, ethno-centric, and authoritarian concerns for the supposed status loss of the white conservative Christian identity.

Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
banner_daad_en
banner_edp-einstein

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Chiara Migliori

Alumna

Adresse
Lansstraße 5-9
14195 Berlin

"We're saying Merry Christmas again": Donald Trump as the Savior of White Conservative Christian Identity

Dissertation in Kultur

Mentoring Team:
First supervisor: Prof. Martin Lüthe
Second supervisor: Prof. Harald Wenzel
Third supervisor: Prof. Mark J. Rozell

Die vorliegende Dissertation untersucht die ersten zwei Jahre der Präsidentschaft Trumps durch die Linse einer Dreiecksbeziehung zwischen dem Präsidenten, prominenten Organisationen der religiösen Rechten und weißen, konservativen, christlichen Wählern. Dieses dreiseitige Schema, das als Instrument zur Analyse der Verbindungen zwischen religiösen Interessensgruppen und den Wählern Trumps entwickelt wurde, erlaubte es mir, die verschiedenen diskursiven, ideologischen und symbolischen Elemente hervorzuheben, die diese Verbindung aufrechterhalten und dazu beitragen, das erfolgreiche Wahlergebnis zu erklären.

Die Struktur der Dissertation spiegelt die Struktur der Dreiecksbeziehung wider. Das erste Kapitel liefert einen historischen Hintergrund sowohl für die langjährige Verbindung zwischen religiösen Werten und Politik in den Vereinigten Staaten, als auch für die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Veränderungen, die das Land nachhaltig geprägt haben, und für das Wachsen von Gefühlen der Vertreibung und des Ressentiments, und folglich des Statusverlusts, unter weißen, konservativen, christlichen Bürgern verantwortlich waren; das Kapitel wird mit einem Überblick über die religiösen Elemente in Trumps Diskurs abgeschlossen. Das zweite Kapitel stellt den Diskurs der Religiösen Rechten vor, wie er sich sowohl aus Einzelinterviews als auch aus schriftlichem Material ergibt. Das dritte und letzte Kapitel konzentriert sich auf Peergroup Gespräche mit weißen, konservativen Christen zu den Themen Religionsfreiheit und Donald Trump.

Wie die durchgeführte Analyse zeigt, hinderte die spärliche und schlagwortartige Weise, in der christliche Symbole in Trumps Reden auftauchten („Nothing beats the Bible,“ „We’re gonna say Merry Christmas“), sowohl unterstützende Organisationen der religiösen Rechten als auch weiße, konservative, christliche Wähler nicht daran, ihm die Züge eines Retters ihrer Identität und Kultur zuzuschreiben. Die Resonanz, die die religiöse Sprache des Präsidenten bei seinen Anhängern fand, ist weit davon entfernt, nur ein Erbe der Ende der 1970er Jahre gebildeten, ideologischen Allianz zwischen konservativen Christen und der Republikanischen Partei zu sein, sondern indiziert vielmehr das Ausmaß der Ausbeutung von Religion für politische Zwecke im 21. Jahrhundert. Als bloßes Mobilisierungsinstrument für eine reaktionäre, weiße Identitätspolitik wird das Christentum dazu benutzt, einen Diskurs zu stärken und zu legitimieren, der auf der Inanspruchnahme gefährdeter Rechte und Freiheiten basiert, die von Konservativen sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf lokaler Ebene eingesetzt werden, um rassistische, ethnozentrische und autoritäre Bedenken gegen den vermeintlichen Statusverlust der weißen, konservativen, christlichen Identität zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
banner_daad_de
banner_edp-einstein