Department of Culture

Department of Culture - Team
Department of Culture - Team

Research at the department of culture is concerned with the history of American culture from the beginnings of European colonization to the present. Our course offerings explore North American culture and its contributions to modernity, as well as ongoing processes of cultural dehierarchization, hybridization, pluralization, and individualization. Additionally our visiting professors in Art History, generously supported by the Terra Foundation for American Art, teach courses on North American visual culture. More information on our degree programs and our course offerings.

Current research areays of our faculty and staff are: popular culture and seriality, (American) media history and theory, narrative theory and aesthetic experience, African American Studies, print culture, transnational dimensions of American culture. More information is available in our research section and on the individual profile pages of our faculty members.


Freie Universität Berlin
John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies
Department of Culture
Lansstraße 7-9
14195 Berlin

Front Office
Regina Wenzel (Room 323)
Telephone +49 30 838 54240
Fax+49 30 838 454240


Department Chair
Prof. Dr. Frank Kelleter

Office Hours During the Summer Term 2018

Front Office (Regina Wenzel)
Monday - Thursday  9 a.m. to noon.

Monday, August 20, the office is open from 2 - 4 p.m. only.

Prof. Kelleter
Tue, August 7 from 2 – 3 p.m.
Wed, August 29 from 2:30 – 3:30 p.m.
Office hours in September: to be announced.
Fri, October 12 from 2 – 3 p.m.

Prof. Lüthe
Mon, August 13 at 11 a.m.
Mon, September 3 at 2 p.m.
Thu, September 27 at 10 a.m.
(authentication of course achievements)

Dr. Starre
Tue, August 7 at 2 p.m.
Tue, August 28 at 2 p.m.

Prof. Fluck
Appointment by email.




TERRA Foundation Visiting Professorships

The Terra Foundation visiting professorships aim at fostering the cross-cultural, trans-disciplinary scholarly engagement with North American Art at the John F. Kennedy Institute and the Art History departments of Freie Universität and Humboldt Universität.