John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies


Service Navigation

One History-Two Perspectives: Culturally specific modes of representation of the “exotic Other” at the Pacific Northwest Coast

One History-Two Perspectives

Culturally specific modes of representation of the “exotic Other” at the Pacific Northwest Coast

The project is made possible by the German Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Duration: 1st of April 2009 until 31st of March 2012

Objective

The research project aims to find new ways of conveying the “cultural Other” and to thereby enhance the conventional educational approaches in museums. The project “One History- Two Perspectives” is to be viewed in the context of the Humboldt-Forum, currently the most important museum project in Germany. The future Humboldt-Forum is going to be dedicated to non-European art and culture and its exhibition is going to be based in part on the collection of the Museum of Ethnology in Berlin. To this day, it has been the Ethnological Museum which has shaped the representation of the “cultural Other” in Germany. Objects from its collection will also fulfill this purpose in the Humboldt-Forum.

The empirical approach of our research project is based on the assessment that the present ethnological collection is significantly influenced by earlier assumptions, that artifacts were relics of “authentic” cultures which were doomed to disappear. This still is reflected in the manner objects are displayed and how they serve as a depiction of the “Other”. From today’s perspective we are required to rethink this approach and to seek alternatives for this global and social predicament of translating the "cultural Other".

In the objective to develop an alternative reading of the existing collection of the Ethnological Museum, the research project will focus on the extensive and in many ways informative collection of the American Northwest Coast. This specific collection is not only an exceptional resource to investigate the complex 'histories' of globalization, but it provides excellent premises for cooperative approaches with artists, artist initiatives as well source communities.

According to the project's objective the primary phase of the research will be dedicated to the study of change within the economical, socio-cultural and artistic interrelations at the Northwest Coast. The focus lies on the aspect of translation of the "cultural Other" as well as trade with material goods which were and still are employed in this context. In this sense our research aims at a thorough analysis of the various "contact cultures"- a research objective, which we by no means understand to be reduced to indigenous cultures. Rather, we also want to study trade cultures and their influence on the region through their "Terms of Trade".

Outline

The project will be divided into three sections, which do not only reflect the socio-economic relations on the Northwest Coast, but which also concentrate on the specific strategies of translating the "cultural Other".

“Reificated” Other (Brüderlin, Etges, König): The first focus concerns the incorporation of the Northwest Coast into the trans-pacific and global trade from the early contact and colonial periods on. Thereby, we will specifically concentrate on the curios and souvenir market and its role in the communication of the "exotic Other".

 “Scientificated” Other (Hatoum): The second focus lies on the examination of the phenomenon of the "ethnographic artefact" and its trade within the context of the emergence of museum ethnology at the end of the 19th century. The development of a scientific translation of the "Other" will be the focal point in this discourse.

 “Artificated” Other (Bolz and König): The third aspect will focus on the development of the modern ethnological art markets (trade with “original” ethnographic artefacts, reproductions and modern art) in the second half of the 20th century, which do not only serve as an expression of cultural equality, vitality and self-determination, but which also touch upon the political dimensions of the cultural terms of translation.

Prospects

The collection of the Ethnological Museum can be studied in respect to all three listed foci, but it is not surprising, that the objective under which most artifacts were collected was within the context of scientificating the “Other” (Jacobsen 1881-83, Schulze 1882, Krause 1881, Boas 1887). In contrast, we see the necessity for a broader approach and application of more diverse terms of translation.

The achievement of such a comprehensive approach will be the objective of the second phase of the project, during which we will concentrate on the cooperation with representatives of Northwest Coast source communities. With this collaborative pilot project we want to conceptualize a script with new forms of presentation and translation of the collection for an exhibition module in the Humboldt-Forum. We want to explore and present in detail the variety and evolvement of views of the parties engaged. Our project “One History-Two Perspectives” roots in the conviction that new ways of presenting museum collections with broader perspectives are needed in the current global context. Long-term cooperation with source communities, artists and museums as well as a modification of the narrative perspectives are essential to this approach.

John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien


Service-Navigation

Eine Geschichte - Zwei Perspektiven

Kulturspezifische Übersetzungsfunktionen des "exotisch Fremden" am Beispiel der "Terms of Trade" an der pazifischen Nordwestküste anhand der Sammlungen der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Das Projekt wird durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.

Laufzeit: 01.04.2009 bis 31.03.2012

Zielsetzung

Ziel des Projekts ist es, nach neuen Wegen der Übersetzung des „kulturell Fremden“ zu suchen und die herkömmlichen Formen der musealen Vermittlungsarbeit zu bereichern. Diese Zielsetzung ist vor dem Hintergrund des Humboldt-Forums zu sehen, das als das gegenwärtig bedeutendste, im Entstehen begriffene deutsche Museumsprojekt der Vermittlung außereuropäischer Kunst und Kultur gewidmet sein wird. Ausgangsbasis bilden die Sammlungsbestände des Ethnologischen Museums in Berlin. Sie waren nicht nur eine maßgebliche Grundlage der bisherigen Übersetzung des „kulturell Fremden“ in Deutschland, sondern sollen diese Funktion auch im zukünftigen Humboldt-Forum erfüllen.

Das Projektteam geht dabei von der Feststellung aus, dass die vorliegenden ethnologischen Sammlungen maßgeblich durch die frühere Annahme geprägt sind, dass die zusammengetragenen Objekte Relikte zum Untergang verurteilter „authentischer“ Kulturen darstellen – mit entsprechenden Konsequenzen für die museale Übersetzungsfunktion. Da diese Annahme heute so nicht mehr haltbar ist, gilt es, die Grundlagen zu überdenken und nach Alternativen für die gesellschaftlich wie global zentrale Problematik der Übersetzung des „kulturell Fremden“ zu suchen.

In dem Bestreben alternative „Lesarten“ und Interpretationsrahmen für die bestehenden Sammlungen des Ethnologischen Museums zu entwickeln, konzentriert sich dieses Forschungsprojekt exemplarisch auf die umfangreichen und in vielerlei Hinsicht besonders aufschlussreichen Sammlungen der amerikanischen Nordwestküste. Sie eignen sich nicht nur im besonderen Maße für die angestrebte Erforschung komplexer „Geschichten“ des Zusammenwachsens unserer Welt. Vielmehr bieten sie auch beste Voraussetzungen für die kooperative Entwicklung neuer Übersetzungs- und Präsentationsformen des „kulturell Fremden“ mit Künstlern, Künstlerinitiativen sowie Source Communities der Region, da auf viel versprechende lokale Netzwerke zurückgegriffen werden kann.

Entsprechend dieser Zielsetzung ist die erste Phase des Projekts der Untersuchung des Wandels der ökonomischen, soziokulturellen und künstlerischen Zusammenhänge an der Nordwestküste gewidmet. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf dem Aspekt der Übersetzung des „kulturell Fremden“ sowie auf dem des Handels mit solchen materiellen Gütern, die in diesem Zusammenhang Verwendung fanden und finden. In diesem Sinn zielt unsere Forschung auf die nähere Analyse unterschiedlicher Kontaktkulturen“ ab - ein Forschungsgegenstand, den wir keineswegs ausschließlich auf „indigene Kulturen“ reduziert verstanden wissen wollen. Vielmehr sollen auch unterschiedliche auf die Region Einfuß nehmende Handelskulturen hinsichtlich ihrer „Terms of Trade“ untersuchen werden.

Projektphasen

Die Arbeitsteilung im Team wird von drei Schwerpunkten bestimmt. Diese spiegeln nicht nur unterschiedliche sozioökonomische Zusammenhänge wider, sondern konzentrieren sich jeweils auch auf spezifische Strategien der Übersetzung der „kulturellen Fremde“:

„Verdinglichte“ Fremde (Brüderlin, Etges, König): Beim ersten Schwerpunkt bildet die Einbindung der Nordwestküste in den trans-pazifischen und globalen Warenhandel seit der frühen Entdeckungs- und Kolonialperiode das zentrale Thema. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt hier der Rolle von Kuriositäten und der Souvenirkultur in der Kommunikation des „exotisch Fremden“.

„Verwissenschaftlichte“ Fremde (Hatoum): Der zweite Schwerpunkt nimmt sich des Phänomens des „ethnographischen Artefakts“ und des Handels mit ihm im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung der musealen Ethnologie Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts an. Hier steht die Herausbildung „wissenschaftlicher“ Übersetzungsformen des „Anderen“ im Mittelpunkt.

„Verkunstete“ Fremde (Bolz und König): Innerhalb des dritten Schwerpunkts steht die Entwicklung moderner ethnischer Kunstmärkte (Handel mit Original Kunstwerken, Reproduktionen und moderner Kunst) in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts im Mittelpunkt. Auch ein Ausdruck kultureller Gleichberechtigung, Vitalität und Selbstbestimmung, kommt hier der politischen Dimension kultureller Übersetzungsfunktionen eine besondere Rolle zu.

Perspektiven

Auch wenn alle drei Schwerpunkte in den Sammlungen des Ethnologischen Museums vertreten sind, kann es nicht verwundern, dass solche dominieren, die mit dem Ziel einer „wissenschaftlichen“ Übersetzungsarbeit zusammengetragen wurden (Jacobsen 1881-83, Schulze 1882, Krause 1881, Boas 1887). Wir hingegen sehen die Notwendigkeit, unterschiedliche Übersetzungsansätze gleichzeitig zu verwenden. Hierfür ist die Weiterentwicklung des Bereichs der nicht-objektbasierten musealen Sprach- und Vermittlungsformen unabdingbar.

Letzteren Zielen ist vor allem die zweite Phase des Projekts gewidmet. In ihr steht die Zusammenarbeit mit Vertretern der Source Communities der Nordwestküste im Rahmen eines Pilot-Projekts im Mittelpunkt. Mit Blick auf die Konzeption eines Drehbuchs für ein Ausstellungsmodul im Humboldt-Forum, gilt in dieser Projektphase der gemeinschaftlichen Suche nach Wegen des Überschreitens der Ausdrucksgrenzen der vorhandenen Sammlungen das Hauptaugenmerk. Unser Forschungsprojekt „Eine Geschichte – Zwei Perspektiven“ zielt auf eine zeitgemäße Perspektiverweiterung ab. Dabei ist es uns ein zentrales Anliegen, die Vielfalt der Perspektiven und sich abzeichnende Entwicklungen herauszuarbeiten. Schließlich wurzelt unser Anliegen in der Überzeugung, dass die heutigen globalen Zusammenhänge eine Suche nach neuen Ansätzen für die Präsentation der Sammlungen in den Museen unumgänglich machen und dass hierbei langfristig angelegten Kooperationen mit Source Communities, Künstlern und Museen sowie dem Wechsel der Erzählperspektiven ein zentraler Stellenwert zugebilligt werden muss.