Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Curriculum

The Graduate School aims to prepare doctoral students for the various challenges they will encounter in their future careers. The curriculum therefore balances in-depth training in the area of the thesis and in North American Studies with teaching- and management-specific competencies. While its main focus is on providing resources and time for developing a comprehensive dissertation, students also receive extensive training in three disciplinary research methods courses as well as one interdisciplinary seminar. Embedded into the structure of the John F. Kennedy Institute, the Graduate School provides a practically-oriented environment to enhance didactic and teaching skills. The planning of a graduate conference, as well as the cooperation with the Dahlem Research School and its affiliations, offer essential mana­gement skills pertinent to the students’ future careers.

Curricular Requirements

Admitted doctoral candidates are expected to obtain at least 180 credits of research training during the 3-year program. These credits will be acquired according to the following distribution: 13 credits for course work (3 credits for an Interdisciplinary Seminar [MA level] offered by disciplines outside of the discipline of the PhD, 10 credits for disciplinary research methods); 10 credits for teaching-specific competencies; 7 credits for management-specific competencies; 150 credits for the dissertation, including doctoral research and individual mentoring.

The 7 credits for management-specific competencies include the involvement in the organization of an annual multidisciplinary conference. 

Curricular Structure

For doctoral candidates, the first three semesters of the program offer an intense study period in which the students critically assess fundamental theoretical and methodological tools as well as review the latest research and critical debates in their respective fields. The mandatory coursework of the program is to be completed during this period, and students will be expected to refine their research design and its method. Close collaboration between the student and his/her dissertation advisor is mandatory and individualizes the training program. Beginning with the fourth semester, the primary focus is on independent dissertation research. Besides teaching one class at the undergraduate level in the fifth semester, the last year will be reserved for the completion of the dissertation.

Structure of the Doctoral Training Program

  Term Interdisciplinary Education Disciplinary Research Methods Management-specific competencies Research
1st year WT 30 CP 3 CP  3 CP 5 CP 42-58 CP
ST 30 CP 4 CP
2nd year WT 30 CP   3 CP 2 CP 12-28 CP
ST 30 CP Research, 30 CP
3rd year WT 30 CP Teaching, 10 CP Research, 15-30 CP
ST 30 CP Research and Writing, 30 CP

 

Courses

The curriculum includes the following courses and seminars:

A. Interdisciplinary Seminar:

Respective of their own disciplinary orientation, students attend one interdisciplinary seminar on the MA level that does not involve their own discipline. Seminars are regularly taught in these combinations (please note that additional interdisciplinary seminars based on further combinations of disciplines may be available):

  • Literature/Sociology
  • History/Economics
  • Political Science/Culture

B. Research Methods:

  1. Introduction to Disciplinary Theories (3 CP)
  2. Advanced Disciplinary Research Methods (3 CP)
  3. Good Scientific Practice (1 CP)
  4. Colloquium: Research in Progress (3 CP)

C. Management- and teaching-specific competencies

  1. Organization of an international graduate conference (5 CP)
  2. Transferable skills courses, e.g. offered by DRS or its cooperation partners (2 CP)
  3. Teaching of a Bachelor of Arts/Master of Arts seminar at the JFKI (10 CP)

 

 

Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
banner_daad_en
banner_edp-einstein

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Curriculum

Die Graduiertenschule zielt auf eine ausgewogene Ausbildung von Doktoranden hinsichtlich der vielseitigen Herausforderungen einer akademischen Karriere. Das Curriculum verbindet daher disziplinäre sowie interdisziplinäre Vertiefung in den Nordamerikastudien mit didaktischen und wissenschaftsmanagementorientierten Kompetenzen. Der Hauptfokus liegt dabei vor allem darauf, Ressourcen und Zeit für den Abschluss einer erfolgreichen Dissertation bereitzustellen. In drei Kursen zu disziplinären Forschungsmethoden und in einem interdisziplinären Seminar werden wissenschaftliche Kompetenzen weiter gefördert. Als Teil des John F. Kennedy Instituts bietet die Graduiertenschule außerdem ein praxisorientiertes Forschungs- und Lehrumfeld. Das Studienprogramm soll zuletzt Schlüsselqualifikationen für die spätere wissenschaftliche Laufbahn, wie etwa im Bereich des Wissenschafsmanagement, durch die Kooperation mit der Dahlem Research School vermitteln. 

Leistungsanforderungen

Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme der Doktoranden am dreijährigen Studienprogramm erfordert den Erwerb von 180 Leistungspunkten. Diese Leistungspunkte setzen sich wie folgt zusammen: 13 Leistungspunkte für die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an inhaltlichen Lehrveranstaltungen (davon 3 Leistungspunkte für interdisziplinäre Seminare in anderen Disziplinen als der Dissertation [MA] und 10 Leistungspunkte für disziplinäre Forschungsmethoden); 10 Leistungspunkte im Bereich Wissensvermittlung; 7 Leistungspunkte für den Kompetenzerwerb im Bereich Wissenschaftsmanagment. 150 Leistungspunkte sind der eigenen Forschungsarbeit und der individuellen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mentorenteam gewidmet.

Die 7 Leistungspunkte im Bereich Wissenschaftsmanagment beinhalten  die Organisation einer jährlichen multidisziplinären Konferenz.

Struktur des Lehrplans

Für die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden bilden die ersten drei Semester des Doktorandenprogramms  eine intensive Studienphase, in der sie sich erweiterte theoretische und methodologische Herangehensweisen aneignen und sich kritisch mit den neuesten Debatten und Forschungsergebnissen ihres Forschungsfeldes auseinandersetzen sollen. Innerhalb dieses Zeitraums müssen alle Lehrveranstaltungen erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden. In diese erste Studienphase fällt außerdem die detaillierte Ausarbeitung der Konzeption und wissenschaftlichen Methode der Dissertation. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit von Studierendem und Mentoren mit Blick auf ein individualisiertes Forschungstraining ist obligatorisch. Ab dem vierten Studiensemester soll der Schwerpunkt auf der eigenständigen Forschung liegen. Neben der Übernahme einer Lehrveranstaltung im Bereich des B.A. Programms am John-F.-Kennedy-Institut dient dieses letzte Jahr ausschließlich der Fertigstellung der Dissertation.

Struktur des Studienprogramms

  Semester Interdisziplinäres Seminar Disziplinäre Forschungsmethoden Wissenschaftsmanagement Forschung
1. Jahr WS 30 LP 3 LP 3 LP 5 LP
42-58 LP
SS 30 LP 4 LP
2. Jahr WS 30 LP 5 LP 3 LP 2 LP 12-28 LP
SS 30 LP Forschung, 30 LP
3. Jahr WS 30 LP Lehre, 10 LP Forschung, 15-30 LP LP
SS 30 LP Forschung und Dissertation, 30 LP

Lehrveranstaltungen

Der Lehrplan beinhaltet folgende Kurse und Seminare:

A. Interdisziplinäres Seminar:

Gemäß der eigenen disziplinären Orientierung belegen Doktoranden ein interdisziplinäres Seminar im Masterbereich, das nicht ihre eigene Disziplin beinhaltet. Die Seminare werden gewöhnlich in folgenden Kombinationen unterrichtet (eventuell werden weitere interdisziplinäre Seminare in weiteren Kombinationen angeboten):

  • Literatur/Soziologie
  • Geschichte/Wirtschaft
  • Politikwissenschaften/Kultur

B. Forschungsmethoden:

  • Einführung in disziplinäre Theorien (3 LP)
  • Fortgeschrittene disziplinäre Forschungsmethoden (3 LP)
  • Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis (1 LP)
  • Colloquium: Vorstellung und Diskussion vorläufiger Forschungsergebnisse (3 LP)

C. Kompetenzerwerb in den Teilbereichen Wissensvermittlung und Wissenschaftsmanagement

  • Organisation einer internationalen Graduiertenkonferenz (5 LP)
  • Transferkompetenzen im Bereich Wissenschaftsmanagement über Kurse der DRS bzw. ihrer Kooperationen (2 LP)
  • Unterrichten eines Seminars für Studierende im Bachelor oder Master of Arts am JFKI (10 LP)
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
banner_daad_de
banner_edp-einstein