American Family Portraits

The JFKI library presented photographs of American families from about 1945-1970. They were part of photographic estates which had been acquired by the institute to investigate popular photography in the era immediately after WWII. This era was marked by the outstanding success of the “Kodachrome” transparency film which made color images available to the wider population at relatively low cost. Countless family chronicles have been produced in this medium of analog film before the digital photography sparked another media revolution.

The photos focus on two families in particular - the Bauer- and the Jones-family. The former has its home in Colorado on a farm and we see primarily images of a reunion of the extended family (which probably took place once a year) – mostly in form of portraits.

The images of the Jones-family cover more themes. It was possible to acquire the complete photographic estate of the family. We see the family aging, celebrating, but also living through crisis (when the father was hospitalized). We see them in the cottage in the countryside, with the dog in their urban neighborhood and while they travel.

The exhibited photographs point to a change in the representation of the family – from a very much formal representation using portraits in a kind of semi-professional practice which depicted the family as something to present to the outside world ( a kind of “male” practice of family photography) to a practice that more and more focused on the inner life of the family with its emotional highlights, but also crises (a rather “female” practice of family photography).

Amerikanische Familienfotografie

Die Bibliothek des JFKI zeigte Fotografien amerikanischer Familien aus der Zeit 1945-1970. Sie stammen aus fotographischen Nachlässen, die das Institut erworben hat, um die Phase der populären Fotografie nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu untersuchen, die mit dem Siegeszug des Diapositivfilms „Kodachrome“ verbunden ist, der Farbbilder für die breite Bevölkerung erschwinglich machte. Unzählige fotografische Familienchroniken sind mit diesem Medium des analogen Films entstanden, bevor die digitale Revolution auch die Familienfotografie erfasst hat.

Tatsächlich zeigt die Ausstellung nur zwei Familien – die Bauer- und die Jones-Familie. Erstere ist in Colorado auf einer Farm beheimatet und wir sehen vor allem Bilder eines Familienfestes (wahrscheinlich ein jährlich stattfindendes großes Familientreffen) – zumeist in Form von Porträts.

Die Bilder der Jones-Familie sind thematisch umfassender; hier gelang es den kompletten fotografischen Nachlass der Familie zu erwerben. Wir sehen die Familien altern, Feste feiern aber auch durch Krisen gehen (Krankenhausaufenthalt des Vaters). Wir sehen sie im Ferienhaus auf dem Land, mit dem Hund in ihrer städtischen Nachbarschaft, auf Reisen.

Die ausgestellten Fotografien zeigen vor allem einen Wandel in der Darstellung der Familie von einer sehr formalen, auf Porträts zugeschnittenen, semi-professionellen Fotografie, in der es die Familie fotografisch vor allem nach außen zu repräsentieren galt (ein eher „männlicher“ Sinn der Familienfotografie), zu einer immer stärker das innere Familienleben und seine emotionalen Höhepunkte und auch Krisen dokumentierenden Praxis (ein eher „weiblicher“ Sinn von Familienfotografie).