Exhibitions

The library occasionally organizes exhibitions based on different topics, often in collaboration with the JFK-Institute. Furthermore the library presents a monthly changing selection of books of its new acquisitions.


John F. Kennedy 100

On the occasion of John F. Kennedy's 100th birthday the library presented photos of Kennedy and his family. Rare pictures of his youthful days as well as official press releases of his presidential years paint an intimate portrait of the assassinated president.

American Family Portraits

The JFKI library presented photographs of two American families from 1945-1970. This era was marked by the outstanding success of the “Kodachrome” transparency film which made color images available to the wider population at relatively low cost.

Audre Lorde – The Berlin Years

The exhibition „Audre Lorde – The Berlin Years“ showed portraits made by Dagmar Schultz, primarily taken in Berlin of places that were important to her. They illustrate private moments as well as Lorde’s commitment for Afro-German women.

Past Exhibitions

A chronological overview over the past exhibitions.

Ausstellungen

Die Bibliothek organisiert unregelmäßig Ausstellungen zu verschiedenen Themen, häufig in Zusammenarbeit mit dem JFK-Institut. Außerdem werden im Foyer der Bibliothek monatlich ausgewählte Neuerwerbungen präsentiert.


John F. Kennedy 100

Zum 100. Geburtstag John F. Kennedy's wurden Fotos von Kennedy und seiner Familie ausgestellt. Bewegende private Aufnahmen seiner Jugendjahre sowie offizielle Pressefotos seiner Präsidentenjahre zeichnen ein intimes Bild des ermordeten Präsidenten.

Amerikanische Familienfotografie

Die Fotografien amerikanischer Familien aus der Zeit 1945-1970 stammen aus Nachlässen, die das Institut erworben hat, um die Phase der populären Fotographie nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu untersuchen. Diese Phase ist eng mit dem Siegeszug des Diapositivfilms „Kodachrome“ verbunden, der Farbfotografien auch für die breite Bevölkerung erschwinglich machte.

Audre Lorde – The Berlin Years

Die Ausstellung „Audre Lorde – The Berlin Years“ zeigte Porträtaufnahmen, die Dagmar Schultz von Audre Lorde angefertigt hat. Sie illustrieren sowohl private Momente als auch Lordes Engagement für afro-deutsche Frauen.

Alle Ausstellungen im Überblick

Eine chronologische Übersicht aller bisher gezeigten Ausstellungen.