Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master Program

Model Study Plan MA 2015

Model Study Plan MA 2015

The North American Studies Master's program at the John F. Kennedy Institute analyzes and interprets the historical, structural, and institutional developments of North America and, as such, is arranged according to its respective political, social, economic, historical, cultural, and literary contexts. Furthermore, regional issues and seminars are handled comprehensively within their respective disciplines. The core disciplines that make up the Kennedy Institute Master's program include History, Cultural Studies, Literature, Political Science, Sociology and Economics.

This two-year, interdisciplinary Master's program begins every winter semester (mid-October) and comprises a workload of 120 earned credits based on three pillars: a primary concentration that serves as the core discipline in which the Master's thesis is to be written, a secondary concentration providing further background knowledge, and a third accompanying interdisciplinary module that deals with theoretical and methodological concerns (see course program).

If you are just starting your studies you may find the information provided in the _STARTING Your Study Program useful.

Career and Occupation

Successful graduation from the Kennedy Institute M.A. program qualifies one as an expert in matters relating to North American Studies, particularly in Political Science, Economics and economic advising, foreign service, international organizations, NGOs, media and cultural institutions, state planning and administration, adult education and continuing education, the publishing industry and library sciences as well as at universities and non-university based organizations such as government or private research foundations, think tanks, etc.

Questions regarding the Kennedy Institute M.A. in North American Studies should be directed to the JFK Office for Student Advising by either email, phone, or in person, or to the M.A. Advisor Prof. Lora Viola. The Info Service of the Free University of Berlin will gladly answer any general questions regarding application and enrollment procedures.

The application deadline is May 31 (received by).

Lecture and Course Catalog
Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistent (OSA)

Master

Im Masterstudiengang Nordamerikastudien werden historische Entwicklungen, Strukturen und Institutionen der Region Nordamerika analysiert und interpretiert sowie in ihre jeweiligen politischen, gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen, historischen und kulturellen Zusammenhänge eingeordnet. Darüber hinaus werden regionalwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Aufgaben disziplinübergreifend bearbeitet. Schwerpunktdisziplinen im Masterstudiengang Nordamerikastudien sind Geschichte, Kultur, Literatur, Politik, Soziologie und Wirtschaft. 

Der interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang beginnt jeweils zum Wintersemester. Das zweijährige Programm umfasst einen Arbeitsaufwand von 120 Leistungspunkten, die auf drei Säulen basieren: ein erstes Schwerpunktfach als Kerndisziplin, in der die Masterarbeit geschrieben wird, ein weiteres Schwerpunktfach als Erweiterungsdisziplin und ein begleitendes, interdisziplinäres Modul, das theoretische wie methodische Fragestellungen behandelt (siehe Studienverlauf).

Beruf

Der Abschluss qualifiziert für Tätigkeiten als Nordamerika-Expertin und Nordamerika-Experte, insbesondere in der Politik und Politikberatung, der Wirtschaft und Wirtschaftsberatung, im Auswärtigen Dienst und bei internationalen Organisationen, Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen (NGOs), Medien und kulturellen Einrichtungen, der staatlichen und kommunalen Planung und Verwaltung, der Erwachsenenbildung und Weiterbildung, im Verlags- und Bibliothekswesen sowie in universitären und außeruniversitären wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen.

Zum Wintersemester 2011/2012 werden voraussichtlich ca. 35 Studienplätze zum MA Nordamerikastudien zur Verfügung. Die Bewerbungsfrist für den Masterstudiengang endet am 31. Mai (Posteingang).

Bei Fragen zum Masterstudiengang Nordamerikastudien, die nicht in den FAQ beantwortet werden, wenden Sie sich bitte per Email, telefonisch oder persönlich an die studentische Studienberatung oder an den MA-Beauftragten Dr. Christian Lammert. Allgemeine Fragen zu Bewerbung und Immatrikulation beantwortet Ihnen gerne der Info-Service der FU Berlin.

Achtung: Neue Studien- und Prüfungsordnung für den MA Nordamerikastudien veröffentlicht.

Auch für höhere Semester ist ein Wechsel in die neue Ordnung möglich.

Das Formular zur Umschreibung kann hier heruntergeladen werden.